Less boo. More booked. Halloween offer: 30 days free on any paid plan. Claim 30 days freeEvery new account gets one free mailbox for warmup and replies. No domain to buy. See how it works

Skip to content
Warmerly Expandi
One-to-one · SPF, DKIM and DMARC checks

SPF, DKIM and DMARC checks

One row, in depth: what each tool does, the verified numbers, and who each suits.

Expandi details read from its pricing page, FAQ, home page and help centre on 19 October 2026.

Warmerly, both channels

Checked every six hours per domain, with the exact record to add when one is missing.

Expandi

Not listed on its pricing page.

The short answer

SPF, DKIM and DMARC checks, in one look.

Warmerly checks SPF, DKIM, DMARC and MX for every connected mailbox on a sweep that runs every 6 hours, writes each failure as a finding with a fix, and checks 6 domain blocklists and 10 IP blocklists. We found nothing on authentication on Expandi's pricing page or in the help pages we read: its only related page connects Gmail with an app password and says nothing about SPF, DKIM or DMARC. That is a statement about what is published, not about the product. Last checked 19 October 2026.

Warmerly, both channelsWarmerly ahead on this row

Checked every six hours per domain, with the exact record to add when one is missing.

Expandi

Not listed on its pricing page.

The picture

Drawn side by side.

How the records get checked

SPF, DKIM, DMARC and MX

Warmerly, both channelsExpandi
Warmerly, both channelsEvery 6 hours, on its own
  • SPFending, 10 lookups
  • DKIMkey size, test mode
  • DMARCpolicy, reports
  • MXpresent
ExpandiNo check listed on its pages
  • SPFnot listed
  • DKIMnot listed
  • DMARCnot listed
  • MXnot listed

Warmerly explains each failing record in plain words. We found no authentication check on Expandi's pricing page or in the help pages we read; that is about what is published, not about the product.

What gets read, record by record

Pick a record, then open a finding to see the fix Warmerly shows

Warmerly, both channelsExpandi
  • FailsNo SPF record

    Add a TXT record starting v=spf1 that lists your email provider. Your provider publishes the exact value.

  • FailsSPF is broken by one term

    A term receivers cannot read is a permanent error, so SPF is ignored. The usual slip is ip4: and ip6: mixed up; Warmerly suggests the swap.

  • FailsMore than one SPF record

    Receivers treat two records as a permanent error. Merge every provider into a single v=spf1 record.

  • FailsSPF ends in +all

    That authorises the entire internet. Change the ending to -all.

  • WarnsSPF ends in ?all

    It takes no position on unknown senders. Move to -all once every legitimate sender is listed.

  • AdvisorySPF ends in ~all (soft fail)

    A safe and common setting. -all is slightly stronger once you are sure.

  • WarnsSPF has no ending rule

    Add an ending (-all or ~all) so receivers know what to do with unlisted senders.

  • FailsMore than 10 DNS lookups

    Every include: costs a lookup, and so does what those records include. Past 10 the standard says the record is a permanent error.

  • WarnsClose to the 10-lookup limit

    One more email tool could push you over, and receivers would then ignore SPF.

Findings are paraphrased from Warmerly's DNS code. Severity: Fails is red in the app, Warns amber, Advisory is shown but never alerts. Gmail and Outlook addresses are marked as provider-managed, not broken.

Blocklists, scanned every 6 hours

Plain DNS lookups, no API key. A refused query is never reported as a listing

Warmerly, both channelsExpandi
Domain lists6 lists
  • Spamhaus DBL
  • SURBL
  • URIBL
  • NordSpam DBL
  • Spam Eating Monkey URI
  • s5h
IP lists10 lists
  • Spamhaus ZEN
  • SpamCop
  • Barracuda
  • PSBL
  • Mailspike
  • NordSpam
  • Spam Eating Monkey
  • Lashback UBL
  • DroneBL
  • GBUdb Truncate

Left out on purpose: SORBS, UCEPROTECT and Invaluement. Source: Warmerly's blocklist zone registry, read 19 October 2026.

Blocklists Warmerly queries
KindLists
6 domain listsSpamhaus DBL, SURBL, URIBL, NordSpam DBL, Spam Eating Monkey URI, s5h
10 IP listsSpamhaus ZEN, SpamCop, Barracuda, PSBL, Mailspike, NordSpam, Spam Eating Monkey, Lashback UBL, DroneBL, GBUdb Truncate
On screen

What it looks like.

Warmerly, both channelsSample data
Domains and DNS. Every domain checked, with the exact record to add when one is missing, sample dataDomains and DNS. Every domain checked, with the exact record to add when one is missing, sample data
Domains and DNS. Every domain checked, with the exact record to add when one is missing.Warmerly app, sample data.
How Warmerly does it

Warmerly, in detail.

A records sweep every 6 hours across each mailbox that is not dead or paused. SPF, DKIM, DMARC and MX are each judged on quality, not just presence, and each finding comes with a fix.

01

More than 'does the record exist'

SPF is checked for its ending (-all, ~all, ?all or +all), for the limit of 10 DNS lookups counted through include and redirect, and for broken terms. DKIM is checked for key length (a 1024-bit key or shorter is flagged) and for the t=y test-mode flag. DMARC is checked for p=, sp=, pct= and whether rua= is set. MX is checked for presence.

Warmerly product, checked 19 October 2026

02

Every 6 hours, or on demand

The records sweep runs every 6 hours by default across every mailbox that is not dead or paused. The mailbox's Health tab has a Re-check now option. Blocklist checks run on their own 6-hourly sweep.

Warmerly product, checked 19 October 2026

03

A written finding with a fix

Each finding has a title, an explanation and a fix. For example, SPF needing more than 10 lookups is explained as receivers treating the record as a permanent error. DKIM in test mode says to remove t=y once signing is confirmed. Advisories such as p=none are shown but never red.

Warmerly product, checked 19 October 2026

04

The record to paste, in some cases

Under a failing SPF or DMARC chip the card can show the record itself with a copy button. SPF is suggested only for Google and Microsoft mailboxes, merged into the record published now. DMARC is a monitor-only p=none record when none exists. For DKIM the fix points you to your provider's record.

Warmerly product, checked 19 October 2026

05

Alerts only for real failures

A hard failure raises a DNS changed alert with a 24-hour cooldown and keeps alerting while it persists. Quality advisories never alert, and a check that could not run shows as unknown, never green. A known limit: DKIM is looked up by trying common selector names plus any selector you set, so a provider using another selector can read as no signature found until you enter it.

Warmerly product, checked 19 October 2026

06

6 domain and 10 IP blocklists

Warmerly queries 6 domain lists (Spamhaus DBL, SURBL, URIBL, NordSpam DBL, Spam Eating Monkey URI, s5h) and 10 IP lists (Spamhaus ZEN, SpamCop, Barracuda, PSBL, Mailspike, NordSpam, Spam Eating Monkey, Lashback UBL, DroneBL, GBUdb Truncate) by plain DNS lookup. A refused query is never reported as a listing, and several well known zones are left out on purpose (SORBS, UCEPROTECT and Invaluement).

Warmerly product, checked 19 October 2026

07

Checked again before a campaign starts

The pre-launch checklist warns when a sending mailbox's DNS check came back warn or fail, or when more than 5 senders share one domain. It is a warning you can acknowledge, not a block. Free DMARC report monitoring is available for up to 10 domains per workspace.

Warmerly product, checked 19 October 2026

08

Gmail and Outlook addresses are not marked broken

On a shared consumer domain such as gmail.com the records belong to the provider and Warmerly cannot read them reliably, so the card says the mailbox is connected with nothing to set up.

Warmerly product, checked 19 October 2026

How Expandi does it

Expandi, in detail.

No SPF, DKIM or DMARC check is listed on the pricing page or in the help pages we read. The closest page connects a Gmail account over SMTP and IMAP with an app password.

01

Absent from the pricing page

We read the pricing page for DNS, SPF, DKIM, DMARC, deliverability and inbox placement. None of these terms appears. Email appears once: "You can send connection requests, messages, and email follow-ups in just one sequence".

expandi.io/pricing · read 19 October 2026

02

The Gmail integration article

To connect Gmail you must have 2-step verification on, generate an app password, and enter your address, name and the app password in the IMAP and SMTP fields. You click Test Credentials, then Connect. The article states no sending limit, no warm-up guidance and nothing about SPF or DKIM setup.

help.expandi.io/en/articles/6236088-how-to-adapt-your-gmail-and-expandi-integration · read 19 October 2026

05

Why it may not matter for Expandi

LinkedIn is Expandi's core channel and a LinkedIn message is not an email, so these records only matter for the email follow-up step, which is sent from your own Gmail or SMTP mailbox.

expandi.io/pricing · read 19 October 2026

What Expandi does not say

We looked, and found no statement on these. That is about its published pages only, not about the product.

  • Any SPF, DKIM, DMARC or MX check
  • Any blocklist monitoring
  • Any deliverability or spam-folder reporting
  • Whether the Email Integration Settings article says more (we could not open it: it returned HTTP 401)
The numbers

Only what we could verify.

SPF, DKIM and DMARC checks: Warmerly and Expandi side by side. Warmerly is in the first column.
MeasureWarmerly, both channelsExpandi
SPF, DKIM and DMARC checksChecked every six hours per domain, with the exact record to add when one is missing.Not listed on its pricing page.
Records checkedSPF, DKIM, DMARC and MXNone listed
How oftenEvery 6 hours, or Re-check nowNot stated
SPF lookup limit flaggedMore than 10 lookupsNot stated
DKIM key flagged1024 bits or shorterNot stated
Domain blocklists6Not stated
IP blocklists10Not stated
Senders on one domain before a warningMore than 5Not stated
In practice

What it means for you.

Our reading of the facts above. Not a promise, and not the only reasonable reading.

1

It matters when email is a channel

If cold email is part of your outreach, a broken SPF, DKIM or DMARC record sends mail to spam. Warmerly looks every 6 hours and tells you the fix. If you only use Expandi for LinkedIn, these records are not in play.

2

Expandi's email step is yours to maintain

Expandi sends email follow-ups from a Gmail or SMTP mailbox you connect, so the DNS records are your responsibility. Its pages we read do not tell you to check them.

3

A check is not a guarantee

Correct records are the floor for email. They do not decide inbox placement on their own, and Warmerly's own placement test has limits, covered on the placement page.

Who it suits

Pick the one that fits.

Warmerly, both channels

Warmerly is the better fit if

  • You send cold email from your own domains and want the records watched for you
  • You want each failure explained with a fix, plus blocklist checks
  • You manage several mailboxes and want one place to see them
Expandi

Expandi is the better fit if

  • LinkedIn is your main channel and email is a light follow-up
  • You already manage DNS records yourself or with another tool
Questions
Does Expandi check SPF, DKIM and DMARC?

We found no such check on its pricing page or in the help pages we read. Its Gmail integration article covers connecting with an app password and says nothing about these records.

Will Warmerly fix my records for me?

No. It explains each failure and, for some SPF and DMARC cases, shows the record to paste. You publish it at your DNS provider.

Why does Warmerly say Gmail has nothing to set up?

On a shared domain like gmail.com the records belong to the provider, so Warmerly cannot read them reliably and does not mark the mailbox as broken.

Sources

Expandi pages were read on 19 October 2026. Plans and wording change, so check the vendor's own page before you decide. Warmerly details come from the product as it runs today.

See it on your own mailbox.

Connect a mailbox. Warmerly runs alongside whatever you send from now, so you can compare before you move anything.

Free plan, no card. Paid plans: 7-day trial, first charge on day 8.